How to Develop Your Signature Style in 2-Steps

In my opinion the American interior designer Nate Berkus best defines what a signature style is:

 “Your home should tell the story of who you are, and be a collection of what you love brought together under one roof.” — Nate Berkus

I have furnishings in my home that are heirlooms, several different styles of furniture – traditional and contemporary, memorabilia pictures, plaques and other items when brought together are a summation of my life experiences and lifestyle and these items influences my home decor choices.

My mother’s home décor style was my initial introduction into home decorating. During the process of restyling my own home’s great room and kitchen, I reflected on my mother’s style and realized how much this influenced my home decor choices, today.

Cookie Jar

My mother’s home was a very welcoming and comfortable.  She had many furnishings in her home that I loved and inherited.  One item was a ceramic cookie jar.   I always loved that cookie jar and my mother was surprised that I wanted the jar.  The ceramic cookie jar holds many fond memories for me and it’s one item that I will keep forever.   This cookie jar is one of my home decor elements that has become a part of my signature style.

Developing your Signature Style – How do you develop a home décor signature style?  You can do it in 2-steps: create a mood board and identify home décor elements.

 1ST STEP – CREATE A MOOD BOARD

A home decor signature style mood board helps you plan for decorating a space.  It’s a collage of home decorating ideas.   Select samples, swatches, images, and pictures of home decor items that inspire you.  There are several types of mood boards you can use to create your signature style.  One is a traditional board another is a website board.

Traditional Mood Boards. A traditional mood board is a board or poster used to create the collage of home decorating ideas.  They are pasted onto a board so you can  visually see and feel the home décor elements, e.g., fabric textures.

Website Mood Boards.  I love Pinterest and Houzz websites for initially creating website mood boards.    These websites provide an abundance images and pictures that I can bring together and easily add to or update as needed.  Once I have edited down the home decor items I want to use in a space, I will use a more traditional mood board, to finalize my vision.

 room-makeover-with-pinterest-300x470-smallstuffcounds-site

The Blogger, Emily Counts from Small Stuff Counts, has written an excellent post related to website mood boards.  Emily explains in detail how to organize your Pinterest boards by room and editing down images to fit your vision.  Head on over to Emily’s site:  How to Plan A Room Makeover Using Pinterest.

 2nd step – identify your home decor elements

The final step in developing your signature style, is identifying home décor elements.  These are the specific styles, colors, and furnishings you have and love.  Together these will make-up your signature style.

What home décor elements make-up your signature style?  Do you have a passion for a specific color scheme like black and white, or blue and white?  Maybe it’s an heirloom from your grandparents or parents that has been passed down to you.  Is it one of the latest home decorating trends, or do you have a special collection?

Review Your Current Home Décor furnishings.  Identify the home décor furnishings you want to keep that currently reside in your home, i.e., collections, artwork, furniture, etc.

Analyze Your Mood Board.  Using your mood board, you created in step 1, begin to analyze the pictures that you have collected.  Items that are common among these pictures may start to emerge during this step.  For example:  In the pictures I have collected, I love decorative baskets, warm stain wood furniture, greenery, abstract canvas art, brick, and stone.

Ask yourself this question – What do I love about this space?   Your response may initially be, I love everything about the room. Analyze the room by looking at specific items or categories of items in the room.  Do you love the colors, the artwork on the wall, the rug on the floor, how the items are placed on the coffee table, etc.

To make this process a little easier, start with identifying categories.  So, when you review these pictures, you should take notes on why you specifically love a space or room and make notes within each category.  Keep your list at a category level, don’t get too detail at this point.

Below, I have provided a list of categories.  This list is not all inclusive.  So, add to or modify your categories as needed.

Signature Style Categories (examples):

  • Collections you have
  • Household furnishings that must remain in the home, e.g., family heirlooms, furniture pieces
  • Artwork
  • Colors and color schemes
  • Specific types of home decorating styles you love
  • Patterns and textures
  • Accessories

After completing steps 1 and 2, you now have developed your signature style.  You can name it if you want.  The name of my signature design style is Williams’ Haven design style.  Adding my name makes it unique for me.

The next step is getting your home restyled.  This will consist of implementing your signature style into a home restyling plan.  In a future post, I will provide a tips, suggestions and ideas to help you create and implement your own home restyling plan.

 

 

Leave a Reply

