Bake the ‘Ultimate’ Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Yes, the ultimate oatmeal raisin cookie.

If you love oatmeal raisin cookies, you are going to love this cookie!  I know it’s my opinion, so I’m a little bias.

What is my husband’s favorite cookie?  Yea, you guessed it oatmeal raisin.  I wanted to do something different instead of the basic recipe.

When I prepare a recipe, I can’t leave well enough along.  I’m tweaking it or combining several recipes to come up with my own version.

Try your hand in baking your own ultimate oatmeal raisin cookies.

Make your favorite oatmeal raisin cookie dough and add the following:

  • Add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • plus 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • Use a variety of add-ins.  Combine your favorite add-ins for a twist on the traditional oatmeal raisin cookies.  Add coconut, dark chocolate chips, walnuts, butterscotch chips, peanut butter chips…you get the idea.
  •  Use a minimum of three (3).  Ahh.. it’s a new year, go ahead and add four (4).  In addition to the raisins, I added chocolate chips, and chopped pecans. Yesterday, was the second time I made the cookies. My add-ins were: raisins, chocolate chips, chopped pecans, and chopped walnuts. That’s right, I pushed the bar to four (4) add-ins, and they were delicious!

Note: Don’t get carried away with the add-ins.  Reduce the amount of each add-in.  You don’t want to crowd out your cookie dough.  Let the cookie dough be the star and the add-ins the supporting cast.  For example: if you use two (2) add-ins and the recipe uses one add-in (1 cup) – reduce each add-in to 1/2 cup.  If you use three (3) add-ins, use 1/3 cup of each add-in.  Experiment with the amount of add-ins.

My husband loved…loved…these cookies.  Now, when I ask him what cookie would he like for me to bake, he doesn’t care.  Just make the ultimate oatmeal raisin cookies!

 

 

I would love to hear from you.  What is your ultimate oatmeal raisin cookie?  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

